The Birth of McGhee’s Manifesto

A picture is worth a thousand words

Merriam-Webster defines the term manifesto as a written statement declaring publicly the intentions, motives, or views of its issuer.

McGhee’s Manifesto, is intended to do just that – nothing more, nothing less.  The term manifesto became pretty relevant in my life while completing my master’s degree.  During my Integrative Analysis course, we were given the task of writing a thesis.  This project aimed to apply administrative theory and research to practical issues and problems.  The professor encouraged us to pick a subject, not only that we liked, but one that we felt very passionate about.

Being a black male, and realizing many of the issues facing this population, I chose research fitting to Black Men & Boys.  My project was titled: A Manifesto for Black Boys: Might This Be an Answer to Combat Social Ills and the Plight of the Young Black Male in America?

I enjoyed this project and it enlightened me to many underlying issues facing Black Men & Boys; not only in Flint and Genesee County, but all across the country.  For this population, it is no secret that unemployment and incarceration rates are high, educational attainment is low, black on black crime is still prevalent, and many black men are turning away from the responsibility of actively raising their children.  However, this project also enlightened me to the many marvelous accomplishments of black males.

So then why a Manifesto?  I’m so glad you asked.  I believe in the potential of each and every young person in my community – especially young black males.  Their success is critical to the well-being of society as a whole.  I am a product of ‘the mentoring experience’ as I like to call it.  And mentoring, I believe, is one approach to securing our future.

No matter our race, age, background, or religious belief.  There comes a time when you must reach back, grab the hand of a young person, and develop a personal manifesto to make a difference in their lives.  Though we can’t predict the future, we sure can play a role in creating it.  It starts with the youth!

Many things we need can wait. The child cannot. Now is the time his bones are formed, his mind developed. To him we cannot say tomorrow, his name is today. – Gabriela Mistral

With God, nothing is impossible…

6 thoughts on “The Birth of McGhee’s Manifesto”

  1. I love this. I am so proud. This is more inspiration for me to keep pushing forward with the Unified Sisters. This statement is so powerful to me. No matter our race, age, background, or religious belief. There comes a time when you must reach back, grab the hand of a young person, and develop a personal manifesto to make a difference in their lives. Though we can’t predict the future, we sure can play a role in creating it. It starts with the youth! You will always be the big little brother. Thanks.

    1. Thanks Mezon. Keep up the great work with your Unified Sisters. You are planting seeds in the lives of many youth. Seeds that will grow and produce seeds for others.

      Thanks for reading…

  2. David you are such an inspiration! It’s so sad that there are educators out here that instead of finding and nurturing potential they discourage it. I too had a similar situation with my first grade teacher who told be I would be an average student for the rest of my schooling. And look at me now, I graduated with my Masters with a 3.86. It’s like on one hand you want to be mad but on the other hand you want to say thank you for not believing in me and fueling my fire! Your message is a great one because it says don’t become victim to your situation or what people say to discourage you. Bruce Lee said, “To hell with circumstance; I create opportunities. Thank you David for all that you do for OUR community!

Leave a Reply

