Receiving is one thing. But giving is another.

I remember my first day as an Intern in Governor Granholm’s office.  People kept asking me if I knew a gentleman by the name of Lindsay Huddleston.  Time after time this question was asked, and to no avail my answer remained ‘no’.  I thought to myself, “Why do people keep asking me this?”  So I finally asked someone who he was.  They simply replied, “You should just get to know him.”

I eventually got a chance to meet Mr. Lindsay Huddleston, and guess what!  He was a young black male who had once been in my shoes as an intern.  The professional/mentoring relationship I was able to develop with Lindsay has opened up many doors for me.  That’s what mentoring is all about.

GranholmMcGhee

In my first post, I mentioned that I was a product of ‘the mentoring experience’.   Mentoring, in my opinion, is indispensible in the development of any person, at any age, and at any stage of their lives.  And I won’t hesitate to tell you, in 20 different languages if I could speak them, that if you are an adult who works hard at your business or whatever it is that you do, but you are not mentoring a child, teaching your vision or your way of success, then you may be missing an opportunity to truly change the world.  Yes, I said it; YOU can change the world and play in intricate role in the success of someone within your reach.

As much as I love to listen to music, and I’m sure you do too – true success will not come through a set of speakers or an iPod.  It won’t come by way of a video game or a TV screen either.  It will come from you – from you mentoring someone, just as Lindsay mentored me.  God has placed success and greatness inside each and every one of us; we just have to give birth to it.  And as adults, sometimes youth need us to help them give birth to their greatness.

I learned some time ago that people aren’t remembered for what they receive, but for what they give.  You can acquire many awards and certificates and plaques and many other things throughout your life.

But I guarantee you this…you will never be remembered for what you’ve received, but you will be remembered for what you’ve given.

With God, nothing is impossible…
10 thoughts on “Receiving is one thing. But giving is another.”

  1. Well said Dave. Being the leader, voice, positive influence to a young person is priceless. I believe a lot of these young people get boggled down on what they perceive isn’t attainable instead of what are distinct possibilties for change.

  2. I cannot even begin to imagine where I would be if it weren’t for my mentors. They’ve taught me the benefits of humility, education and perseverance. I hope I’m doing the same for others what they have done for me.

  3. As we’ve spent the past week celebrating the life and mourning the loss of Dr. Height, you are so on point with this piece. What we saw this week were leaders of our country in every field come and talk about her guidance, her example, her mentorship up close and from a far. I challenge you to multiply your success not by $$, products, or services rendered but by the wisdom you pass on, the courage you inspire, and the passion you ignite in a young person. Dare them to out do you and keep running till you have to sit down and they have dared someone to out do them…Because as the President noted any her eulogy even from a wheel chair in the midst of the biggest blizzard in recent history Soror Height had not sat down but was still challenging and giving direction to her younger successors.

    “As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God.” 1 Peter 4:10

  4. A great tool for teaching…as adults have young people read these aloud, alone & in groups…

    Adults feel free too!

    Thanks david…

  5. David, I totally agree. I have had mentors all of my life. From elementary to college graduation; and even now. Without God placing these people in my life at the right time, I am not sure what road I would be trotting. Thank God for mentors! I know as a professional working with youth, you are mentoring when you don’t even know it. Mentoring is a great feeling that I will always welcome.

    Thanks for those words.

  6. Very well spoken. I am soo proud of you David, and I wish you the very BEST. Every child needs a mentor of some kind. God will always bless you.

Leave a Reply

