TEDxFlint: The Place for Ideas

If you aren’t familiar with the TED movement, let me tell you – you’ve been missing out!  TED is an organization committed to Ideas Worth Spreading.  The TED movement began in 1984 as a way to bring people together from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, and Design.  Now, the scope is even broader!  Using the TED concept, TEDx is a program of local, self-organized events that bring people together to share a TED-like experience.  On October 23, 2010 the TED movement came to Flint, MI.  Thanks to the vision of Kevin Simpson, Flint experienced an event like never before.

Nurturing the Village

I was fortunate enough to be a speaker for this inaugural event, along with 15 great minds.  My fellow speakers all delivered powerful messages and truly had Ideas Worth Spreading.  Ideas ranging from Sophia Taylor’s “Rehabin Da Hood” to Mike Antonacci’s “Walking up the Down Escalator”.  As speakers, it was our charge to take a strategic approach in developing our TED Talks, by using Flint as an acronym: Focus. Learn. Innovate. Nurture. Transform.

Kevin Simpson, who organized TEDxFlint along with Kettering University’s Daniel Kurin, Dr. Doug Melton, and Brian Beck are truly to be commended for their efforts.  A new flame has been lit in Flint, MI – a flame of ideas that I pray will never die.  For more, and upcoming, information on TEDxFlint and the speakers visit: www.tedxflint.com

With God, nothing is impossible…

© David McGhee

4 thoughts on “TEDxFlint: The Place for Ideas”

  1. David,

    I absolutely loved your talk and definitely think it was one of, if not, THEE best talks of the night. Keep up the phenomenal work, friend. I am very proud of you!

    1. Thanks Tasha,

      Your piece was amazing to say the least. When I met Kevin a few months ago, and he was looking for someone to do spoken word, I immediately mentioned you and I am glad that your scheduled allowed you to attend. I wouldn’t be surprised if your piece makes the TED website. As a matter of fact, I hope it does. Stay encouraged…

      David

  2. While I missed the first four presenters, there’s no doubt in my mind that yours, David, was the most inspiring and provocative, and I truly hope that it quickly reaches parity with the rest of the great TED talks.

    It speaks extraordinarily highly of who will really be taking a leadership role in making Flint a vibrant, fulfilling and prominent city when folks like yourself are asking others how to nurture their community and their youth, while in the same setting, the city’s actual leadership asks for a new name for a vacant lot…

    1. Shaun,

      I appreciate you reading my blog and I further appreciate your kind words. I was impressed with all of my fellow speakers, and I am so grateful to have been a part of this great event. Kevin Simpson had a vision for TEDxFlint and God made sure that we (all of the speakers) were able to contribute to such a nice event.

      Keep reading…

      David

Leave a Reply

