Who Are You?

During this point and time in your life, it is important for you to understand that you are special and unlike any other person on the planet; and that the gifts that God has given you to share with the world are without a doubt yours and no one else’s.  God has impregnated us all with things that only we can give birth to.

This may take asking yourself, a few key questions.  The most critical of all “Who am I?”  No, not what is your name or what school you go to, or your place of employment.  But who are you really?  How would a blind person know your character?  What do you love to do?  What are you passionate about?  What dreams do you have?  How do you plan to leave the world in a better place than you found it?

These may be some questions that you’ve never asked yourself.  However, remember the words of the old Egyptian novelist Naquib Mahfouz: “You can tell whether a man is clever by his answers.  You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions.”

In many cases, questions are more important than answers.

With God, nothing is impossible…

© David McGhee

14 thoughts on “Who Are You?”

  1. What a wonderful thouht to take into my closet this evening. I am so proud of you! Thanks for the words of encouragement….keep it up HOMETEAM!

  2. I couldn’t help but to personalize the question “Who Are You?” and respond candidly and thoroughly. In this moment I am screaming “I am a leader!” I am a leader for the following reasons: I have reflected on the choices and mistakes I have made and I understand how my decisions to act violently, irresponsibly, and impulsively have set a low standard for myself and the men in my community. I am a leader because I assertively explain to the younger men in the neighborhoods the importance of education, urban wellness, wearing a belt and not letting our pants slide below the waist, and having a positive impact on our children’s’ lives.
    As a teenager I didn’t understand how something as unimportant as letting my jeans sag, consuming obscene amounts of alcohol and marijuana would generate a virus that would infect my peers and the younger males in the area I reside. Today, those once viruses have matured to diseases and plague the men of color in my city. As a leader I don’t minimize my role for the despair in the community but examine my former unconstructive habits and how those practices produced stigmas, traditions, and trends for African American men. As a leader, I refuse to conform to the petty expectations of African American men but raise the bar for a more modern level of greatness.
    I am a leader in every sense…I am motivated to provide the most encouraging words, conduct, attitude, behavior, stride, and thought process, for I know it sets a path for my son to follow as well as countless of other boys.
    I am a leader…regardless of my past decisions, I will do all I can to motivate, change, provoke thought and creativity, encourage, instruct, shout ear-shattering words to my brothers “to get up and to not stay down because they have fallen”.
    I am a leader because it’s my responsibility and because I have been blessed to be given the chance to do so.
    I am a leader…

  3. You know it’s ironic that you ask that question today David. Honestly, I believe I have asked myself “who am I?” more in the last two years, than any stranger have asked me in my lifetime. I even asked myself this same question today while at work, after a situation with a few co-workers. Nonetheless, I have my answer. I will continue to seek more answers as to who I am because I believe the type of person God has/is molding me into is much greater than I can reaveal at this time.

    Thank you for this question again Dave..
    Crying out to my Lord ” Hear am I Lord, use me until Your Will is done.”

  4. Who are you? This is a question that I need to ask myself more often.

    I am 30 years old. I know who I am now. 5 years ago I did not have an answer to that question. But 10 years ago I would have given an answer of who I thought I was and 15 years ago I would have stated who I wanted to be.

    Even though I have different answers at different stages in my life I have always felt that I was to make difference.

    What kind of difference? My job allows me to personally reach hundreds of people a year. I have recently moved my 16 year old nephew into my home. I have been and will become more involved in the political state of my community. All of these will make a difference.

    I know who I am today. The question I am asking myself now is “Who will I be tomorrow, in 5 years, 20years?”

    My answer is: What I do today will help me become what I want to be tomorrow.

  5. This is one of the most important questions in the world to ask one’s self! And when answered there is so much freedom, self-love and joy! And one comes not afraid to share themselves! Love the insight!

    Live Authentically, Authentically Live
    The Playground-Lana

  6. When I began working in the Flint Community Schools in 1993 (after a 16-year stint as a college basketball coach) that was the EXACT question I began asking myself on almost a daily basis – “Who am I? What do I stand for? What is my purpose in life? What legacy will I leave behind? What good am I providing the human community I’m living in?” Those questions were asked because of the students I found myself working with. “Am I genuine? Are my actions and motives authentic, and are they relevant to these young people I find myself working with?” I was at Longfellow, Whittier, Central HS and ended up as principal at Southwestern Academy, and the motivation for me during those 12 beautiful years was the “service” I was hopefully providing the students – what is good enough? David McGhee was one of the students I worked with in Flint. He is “giving back” to his community in the most meaningful way imaginable! That makes me terribly proud. Somewhere along the line (along with the terrific parents he was blessed with) he was “touched” by others; people that affected him in a way that contributed to the “driving force” he now possesses. There are others in Flint that are “making a difference.” Flint is one of those communities in America that has the “soul” of the country in it! This town has dealt with struggle and disappointment in ways that many others have not, yet with the toughness of its people, the faith and spirituality of its community, it has continued to move forward. I sincerely believe that there are MANY in Flint that have asked themselves “who am I?” That’s a good thing / self-assessment & honesty are necessary for personal growth. I continue to pray each and every day for all people in the world that have to deal with adversity and pain and injustice. David – keep PUSHING and MAKING A DIFFERENCE!

    D. Ginsberg

  7. Understanding who you are is key in being able to affect situations as opposed to letting them to affect you. There are so many externals that we cannot control. We can’t always predict what will happen. But if we know who we are, we can always go into any situation with conscious action and choice. I also think it’s important to address who we are at the root. So often, we define ourselves by titles, possessions, or circumstances. I think it’s important to know who you underneath that. All of this outer things are merely the fruit, but there is a seed in all of us that is eternal and much older than any of us realize. It is that part of us that connects us to a Higher Reality. Some of us call that reality God. Some call it the Universe. Some refer to it as the Collective Unconscious. And in a world where constant change is modus operandi, one can find a TRUE peace by knowing that part of self that is eternal, everlasting, and unchanging. I took me a long time to define who I was at the deepest, core level…but since I have, I have seen nothing but success, happiness, and growth and in that way my intense seeking of self has been both confirmed and rewarded! =)

    1. BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Keep the Faith, roll your sleeves up, and stay on the “right path” AND the community!!!

      DG

Leave a Reply

