You Are Not an Accident, Day 2 – Purpose Driven Life

I am your Creator.  You were in my care even before you were born. Isaiah 44:2a

God doesn’t play dice.  Albert Einstein

Day two, You Are Not an Accident, was a great read!  The chapter starts out with this phrase: “Your birth was no mistake or mishap, and your life is no fluke of nature.  Your parents may not have planned you, but God did.”

It is amazing to know that God decided to create us and give us life.  (Many people don’t know this)  Before I was born, my parents had another child – a boy born two years before me that died shortly after birth.  I think and reflect on the brother I had, and every part of me believes that if he would have survived, I may not be here today.  My parents may not have had another child.  With this in mind, I am saddened at the fact that I had a brother that I was never able to meet and spend time with.  I am rejoiced, however, that God decided to give me life.  This in and of itself lets me know that I was created on purpose, with a purpose.

We didn’t ask God to create us.  He did it because he wanted to.  Because He wanted us to have life and enjoy all that He has in store for us.  Knowing this, how can we complain and not give God all of the glory and the honor for all he has done.  He created you and me for a reason, and our task should be to bring His reasoning for our being to pass.

Luke 13:6-9 tell us about the fig three that was established.  Established with a purpose!  When the tree isn’t producing in a manner in which it should, this passage tells us it should be cut down.  In this context, however, God allows the tree another year to “get it right”.  And so it is with us.  We are just like the fig tree.  Our charge is to live our lives in the manner in which we were created – on purpose and for His purpose.

Ask Yourself: I know that God uniquely created me.  What areas of my personality, background, and physical appearance am I struggling to accept?

© David McGhee

Leave a Reply

