Made to Last Forever, Day 4 – Purpose Driven Life

In reading Day 4, Made to Last Forever, I am reminded that when God made us, He made us to last forever.  Our time on earth is temporary, and is just to prepare us for eternity.  We will spend more time on the other side of life, than we will here in earth.

Just as the nine months you spent in your mother’s womb were not an end in themselves but preparation for life, so this life is preparation for the next.

Not that I wasn’t before, but after reading this I am further convinced that God loves us so much that He wants us to really enjoy life and experience life with Him in heaven, and not just here on earth.  God is a selfish God, and as our creator, He would love to spend time with us and for us to spend time with Him.  As I’m writing this I actually am thinking about how I spend my time and the amount of time I spend with Him compared to how much time I spend with them.  Them being “The World”: Twitter, Facebook, Television, etc.  Our time within our social networks, shouldn’t trump our time with God and discovering our purpose.

Think about this…we were made to last forever!  That is crazy to even think!  No expatriation date.  Our death is really our birth (with Christ and in Heaven).  Think about it.  Yet and still we spend so much time worrying about things that won’t last, and we spend little time, in comparison, preparing for eternity…which is going to last forever.  We do this because the world is so attractive – it causes us to do the exact opposite of what we should do.  Again, we pass what we need chasing after what we want.

Ask Yourself: Since I was made to last forever, what is the one thing I should stop doing and the one thing I should start doing today?

© David McGhee

 

One thought on “Made to Last Forever, Day 4 – Purpose Driven Life”

  1. Mr. McGhee, thinking of eternity as a light really sat with me today. “start living in light of eternity, and that will color how you handle every relationship, task, circumstance.” This passage is already adjusting my perceptions. It is such a timely chapter as I am grieving the loss of my Pastor and spiritual teacher. I knew immediately how to answer today’s question.

Leave a Reply

