Formed for God’s Family, Day 15 – Purpose Driven Life

The title of Day 15 is Formed for God’s Family.  After reading this, I now further realize how critical and important it is to be in God’s family.  So often we look at this in reverse.  We look at our families and try to find where God is within them, when actually once we are saved, and born again, we are in His family and He is trying to find us…find us acting like it!

The moment you were spiritually born into God’s family, you were given some astounding birthday gifts: the family name, the family likeness, family privileges, family intimate access, and the family inheritance!  The Bible says, “Since you are his child, everything he has belongs to you.”

I remember growing up as a boy and my parents telling me to respect myself and respect my family name (seeing that someone was always watching).  They encouraged me not to act a fool because I had a risk of ruining a reputation for myself and for my family if I did so.

I am not insisting that they didn’t want me to represent God, not at all.  But what I am trying to say is that we all should walk daily as if we are privileged to be in His family once we put our faith in Him.  I am excited about this.  It makes me want to scream the phrase: “Do you know who my Father is?”  Almost in a cocky way, I must admit.

Ask Yourself: How can I start treating other believers like members of my own family?

© David McGhee

Leave a Reply

