Protecting Your Church, Day 21 – Purpose Driven Life

Today’s reading, Day 21, talks about Protecting Your Church – and the importance of unity within church.

Protecting my church means also protecting my spirit, my faith, and my family.  I know there is much more for me to do in my lifetime, so I am committed to positioning myself and my church in the best way possible to receive God’s blessings.  I also need to look at myself (my body) as a church…the real temple that it is.  The bible tells us to love one another as Christ loves the church.  We cannot judge one another.

Whenever I judge another believer, four things instantly happen: I lose fellowship with God, I expose my own pride and insecurity, I set myself up to be judged by God, and I harm the fellowship of the church. A critical spirit is a costly vice.

We must love ourselves as Christ loved the church, too.  The church, indeed, is just brick and mortar unless we occupy it, appreciate it, and act as if it is truly a sacred place.

Ask Yourself: What am I doing to protect [or tear down] the unity of my Church? What can I do about that today?

© David McGhee

Leave a Reply

