Living With Purpose, Day 40 – Purpose Driven Life

I once heard someone say: “Even if you are on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just stand there.” These words ring true to our reading of this book, and God’s purpose for our lives. God calls us to ‘Live on Purpose’ not just ‘Have a Purpose’.  The title of Day 40, Living With Purpose, is a phrase we should all become familiar with.

Living with purpose is the only way to really live.

This charge for our lives is about learning, helping, worshiping, fellowship, loving, and living.  “Live” is an action word, and we must live on purpose for God’s purpose. It is not enough to just exist.  This chapter, alone, is so rich with wisdom, that it is causing my heart to overflow with desire to fulfill God’s purpose for my life.  And furthermore, care about what He cares about.  I will strive every day, until my home-going, to make God the center of my life.

Rick Warren, in this chapter, speaks to the importance of developing a “Life Purpose Statement”, to help keep us focused on what is truly important in life and to assist us in achieving all of our purposes.  In doing this, he provides five questions for us to consider:

  1. What will be the center of my life? Who are you going to live for and what are you going to build your life around?
  2. What will be the character of my life? What kind of person will you be?  God is more interested in who you are than what you do.
  3. What will be the contribution of my life? How will you use your SHAPE (Day 30) to serve the body of Christ?
  4. What will be the communication of my life? Will you commit to reaching out to unbelievers?  Will you share your testimony and the word of God?
  5. What will be the community of my life? How are you going to demonstrate your commitment to other believers and your connection to the family of God?

If you are reading this post or if you have read any of my other Purpose Driven Life posts, I thank you!  This level of dedication is a major accomplishment and God loves when we spend time learning and talking about Him. This is what we have done.  Let’s keep it up!

Ask Yourself: When will I take the time to write down my answers to life’s five great questions? When will I put my purpose on paper?

© David McGhee

Leave a Reply

