Do people want to cheat off of your paper?

Raise your hand of you’ve ever cheated off of someone’s paper!  I know I’m guilty of it.  As a matter of fact, when I did happen to cheat, once (J), I was certain that I was the best cheater any American classroom had ever seen.  I planned ahead and got to class early, being the first student to speak to the teacher – pretending to be well prepared.  I even thought to myself, “I’m going to hand my test in first.  If I do this, there will be no signs of me cheating.”  So I thought, until I got caught.

ImageI was scolded, three times, for my actions.  First, I earned an “automatic E” on the test.  Secondly, the school suspended me for actions.  Lastly, my parents lectured until I fell asleep.  What struck me as odd, though, was that all of the focus was on me and what I did.  No one seemed to celebrate the victim.  After all, they were the one doing something right by acing their tests.  They’ve earned the people’s trust, being smart enough to be cheated off of.  Their previous performance and behavior is noteworthy, and indirectly they are considered leaders within their own right.  In other words, just by simply being prepared, studying, and doing the right things, people take notice.

As so it is with each and every one of us.  When you do that which you are supposed to do, effectively, you won’t be overlooked.  People will find a way to be around you, and study your next move.  Without saying it, they recognize you as a success – someone they respect.

Don’t be the person that cheats; be the person people want to cheat off of. – McGhee’s Manifesto

© David McGhee

Leave a Reply

